6 Point ID Verification Requirements

In order to obtain licenses and permits at the MVC, you are required to pass the 6 Point ID Verification.

This procedure was designed to help prevent identity theft by ensuring that all licenses are distributed accurately with proper legal documents and verification.

You must prove that your presence in the country is authorized under federal law.
Your application will only be accepted when the proper documents are presented. Any false or invalid documents will also be refused.

If your name does not match that on your birth certificate, you must provide alternative documentation for the name change (i.e. marriage certificate).

This requires you to prepare information prior to visiting the MVC, possibly resulting in special document requests from other state agencies.

Paperwork Needed

Before you head to the New Jersey MVC Office, make sure you have the following required documents to get your license. Examples include:

  • Certified or original Birth certificate issued in any state

  • Drivers license or instruction permit issued in another state

  • U.S. passport

  • U.S. military ID card (active duty, retired, reserve)

  • New Jersey ID card

  • Social Security Number Card

  • Documents from a court of record

  • Marriage certificate

  • Parental Consent Form if under 18

Download the

6 Point ID Brochure

 

How to correctly fill out the Student Learner's Permit Application

 

Kyleigh's Law (Graduated Drivers License decals)

  • Drivers under age 21, who possess a permit or probationary license, must display the GDL decals when operating a motor vehicle. A decal must be placed at the top, left corner of both the front and rear license plates.

  • Any driver subject to Kyleigh's Law who fails to display the decals when operating a motor vehicle faces a $100 fine.

  • Passengers are limited to dependents of the driver plus one additional passenger. Siblings are not considered dependents.

  • When a vehicle is shared with a driver that does not require the decals, they should be removed while that driver is operating the motor vehicle.

  • Decals can be purchased at any Motor Vehicle Commission Agency for $4 per pair.

Download 

Kyleigh's Law FAQs

 

What to bring to your Driving Test

  • The same identification (6 Points of ID) you used to obtain a permit. You can download the 6 Points of ID brochure using the link provided above.

  • A valid examination permit.

  • An accompanying New Jersey licensed driver who is at least age 21 and has had their New Jersey driver’s license for at least three years.

  • License plate decals. Red, reflective decals must be affixed to plates on a vehicle used for the road test of drivers under age 21. Decals are to be purchased at the time of the learners/examination permit or probationary license issuance.

  • A registered vehicle with a current inspection sticker and a valid insurance card. The vehicle must allow the Safety Specialist access to the emergency brake from the passenger seat. The Safety Specialist must be able to reach either the foot brake or parking brake.

  • The rental of a driving school auto is permitted.

Reasons you may be denied the opportunity to

take your Driving Test

  • Your vehicle is deemed unsafe or unsuitable for a road test.

  • Your vehicle has an improper, expired, or no inspection sticker.

  • Equipment in the vehicle prevents the Safety Specialist from reaching the foot or parking brakes.

  • It is a self-parking vehicle.

  • There is a defect or condition that affects the safe operation of the vehicle including poor brakes, a defective parking brake, unsafe tires, unreasonably unclean interior, a fast engine idle, or missing seat belts.

  • Your vehicle does not have the required license plate decals.

  • Your vehicle has cracked or tinted windows.

  • You are attempting to take the test while wearing flip flops.

 

Other Resources

Approach Driving School

License #000226

879 Route 10 East

Randolph, NJ 07869

(973) 558-5577

Hours:

Monday - Friday

9:30 am - 5:30 pm

After hours and weekends, you may pick up or drop off an application in our secured mailbox by our front door

Copyright © 2019, Approach Driving School. All Rights Reserved